American Culture and Literature

Guide Contents
​Quick Links
Welcome!
Welcome to Bilkent University Library subject guide for American Culture and Literature.

This guide is created to help you to find the most useful resources in your subject.You can use the tabs across the top of the page to find relative information you need.
Library Collection
Items in the Bilkent Library Collection are shelved according to subjects using the Library of Congress Classification. For more details about this classification refer to the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Library Catalog / Quick Search
WorldCat Search
Expert Librarian

Dilan Ayverdi

Guide Contents
​Quick Links
Books
​Material Requests
Expert Librarian

Dilan Ayverdi

Guide Contents
​Quick Links
Expert Librarian

Dilan Ayverdi

Guide Contents
​Quick Links
Dissertations and Theses
Expert Librarian

Dilan Ayverdi

Guide Contents
​Quick Links
All Items by Source

Archival Material

Adam Matthew: American History Module I / Module II
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.
  • Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
  • Module II Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
----------

Bu özel koleksiyon Amerikan Tarihi’ni ilk yerleşimcilerden yirminci yüzyıl ortalarına kadar belgelendirmektedir. Kaynağını Gilder Lehrman Koleksiyonu’ndan alan bu kaynak, Amerikan Tarihi’nin önde gelen arşivlerindendir.
  • Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
  • Module II Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Modern Era: 1860-1945

Dictionaries

Kelime.com
ENG: Kelime.com is a dictionary database that provides the language, type, meaning and etymological origin information of the word you are looking for in many languages such as Turkish, Ottoman Turkish, English, French, Arabic and more, finds the similar and derivatives of the searched word, and also helps to analyze the words that cannot be read due to wear and deletion.

Please use your Bilkent extension e-mail addresses to register and create a password.

Note: If you already have an account and do not remember your password, you can use "forgot my password" option to create a new password.

TR: Kelime.com Türkçe, Osmanlı Türkçesi, İngilizce, Fransızca, Arapça ve daha birçok dilde sözlük içerisinde aradığınız kelimenin dil, tür, anlam ve etimolojik köken bilgisini sunan, aranan kelimenin benzerlerini ve türevlerini bulan, aynı zamanda yıpranma ve silinmeden dolayı okunamayan kelimeleri çözümlemeye yarayan bir sözlükler veritabanıdır.

Kayıt yapmak ve şifre oluşturmak için lütfen Bilkent uzantılı e-posta adresinizi kullanınız.

Not: Daha önce bir hesap oluşturduysanız ve şifrenizi hatırlamıyorsanız, ‘’şifremi unuttum’’seçeneğini kullanarak yeni bir şifre oluşturabilirsiniz.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
ENG: “The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.” 

TR: 1000 yıllık süreci kapsayan, yarım milyondan fazla İngilizce kelimenin şimdiki ve geçmişteki anlamını, tarihini, telaffuzunu veren ve konusunda otorite kabul edilen bir rehber niteliğindedir. Bu rehber klasik literatürden film senaryolarına kadar uluslararası dil kaynaklarından alınan 2,5 milyon cümleyi örnek göstererek kullanımını anlatır. Avustralya ve Yeni Zelanda’dan Karaiblere; Kuzey Amerika’dan Güney Afrika’ya kadar konuşulan İngilizce kelimeleri kapsar. Uluslararası Fonetik Alfabesini kullanarak telaffuzları gösterir ve etimolojik analizlerin en iyisini sunar.

Dissertations

OATD.org
ENG: The Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) is a platform for open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
 
TR: Açık Erişim Yüksek Lisans ve Doktora Tezleri (OATD) dünya genelinde yayınlanan açık erişimli yüksek lisans ve doktora tezleri platformudur.

AudioBook

OverDrive

ENG: OverDrive is a digital platform that provides access to a variety of electronic books/journals, audio books, music and videos.

To use OverDrive via the mobile app, please visit https://help.overdrive.com/en-us/1307.html

Note: To use the database, you need to log in with your library account information.

TR: OverDrive çeşitli elektronik kitap, dergi, sesli kitap, müzik ve videolara erişim sağlayan dijital bir platformdur.

OverDrive'ı mobil uygulama üzerinden kullanmak için lütfen https://help.overdrive.com/en-us/1307.html adresini ziyaret ediniz

Not: Veritabanını kullanmak için kütüphane hesap bilgileriniz ile giriş yapmanız gerekmektedir.


Bibliographic

American Doctoral Dissertations
American Doctoral Dissertations is a bibliographic database that help researchers to locate more than 172.000 doctoral dissertations that were accepted by American universities from 1902 to present.

----------

American Doctoral Dissertations veritabanı, Amerikan üniversiteleri tarafından kabul edilen ve 1902’den günümüze kadar uzanan 172,000’den fazla doktora tezi içerir.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 (EBSCO) is a guide that prepared by John Carter Brown Library and EBSCO for printed sources have been written about America in Europe before 1750. Database includes more than 32,000 records coverings subjects of Britons, trade, explorations, Dutch in America, French in America, colonies, pirates, slave trade, beliefs and religions in America and etc.

----------

John Carter Brown Library ile işbirliği içerisinde EBSCO Information Services, 1750’den önce Avrupa’da Amerika hakkında yazılan basılı kayıtlar için kapsamlı bir rehber üretti. Toplamda 32,000’den fazla kayıt içeren bu veri tabanında yer alan başlıca konular: Amerika’daki Britanyalılar, Ticaret, Keşifler, Amerika’daki Flemenkler, Amerika’daki Fransızler, Büyük Britanya – Koloniler, Amerika’daki dinler ve inançlar, Korsanlar, Köle ticareti ve çok daha fazlası…
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
ENG: eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
eHRAF Archaeology contains information on archeology belonging to societies, ethnic groups and cultures in the world prehistory.

TR: eHRAF Archaeology, dünyada tarih öncesinde yer almış toplumlar, etnik gruplar ve kültürlere ait arkeoloji bilgilerini içermektedir.
eHRAF Archaeology, dünyada tarih öncesinde yer almış toplumlar, etnik gruplar ve kültürlere ait arkeoloji bilgilerini içermektedir.


 
note:
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
ENG: It indexes nearly 1.200 periodicals, more than 1,300.000 records and more than 240.000 books reviews in the fields of Humanities and Social Sciences.

TR: Beşeri ve Sosyal Bilimler alanlarında 1.200’e yakın süreli yayın, 1,300.000’den fazla kayıt ve 240.000’den fazla kitap incelemesi indekslemektedir.
 
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
ENG: Produced by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography provides citations to articles, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies and other formats in the fields of literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage begins in 1963 and continues to the present. The MLA also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submission for publication for over 3700 periodicals regularly covered in the Bibliography.

TR: Modern Language Association tarafından 1963 yılından günümüze kadar edebiyat, dil, dilbilim, folklor konularında çeşitli formatlarda yayınlanmış kaynakların bibliyografik künyelerini içerir. MLA kapsamındaki 3700’ün üzerindeki derginin adresleri, reklam ücretleri ve yayınlanması için gerekli sunum şartlarını sağlayan MLA Directory of Periodicals’ı içerir
Newswires
ENG: EBSCO’s Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.

TR: Newswires veritabanı Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire ve Business Wire gibi dünya çapındaki medyadan eş zamanlı haberler sağlamaktadır.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
ENG: Oxford Bibliographies Online database is a reference source that provides access to annotated bibliographies in American literature, British and Irish literature, cinema and media studies, medieval studies, Victorian literature and related subjects.

TR: Oxford Bibliographies Online veritabanı, Amerikan edebiyatı, İngiliz edebiyatı, sinema, medya araştırmaları, ortaçağ araştırmaları, İrlanda edebiyatı ve ilgili alanlarda hazırlanmış açıklamalı bibliyografyalara erişim sağlayan bir referans kaynağıdır.
Scopus
ENG: Scopus covers 18,000 publications from 5,000 different publishers in the fields of science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. It provides abstract searching from 1960, and cited reference searching from 1996 to the present. In addition to academic journals, it includes conference proceedings, trade publications, patents, book series and scientific web-pages. Content is updated daily.

TR: Bilim, teknik, tıp ve sosyal bilimler alanında, 5000 farklı yayınevine ait 18.000 yayında yer alan çalışmaların 1960 yılından günümüze özet, 1996 yılından günümüze de atıf bilgilerini içeren bibliyografik bir veritabanıdır. Bilimsel dergilerin yanı sıra, konferans tutanakları, ticari yayınlar, patentler, kitap serileri ve bilimsel içerikli web sayfalarını da içeren veritabanı her gün güncellenmektedir.
Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory
ENG: Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

TR: Ulrich's Perıodicals Directory dünya çapında yayınlanmış süreli yayınlar hakkında detaylı geniş ve güvenilir bilgi sağlayan bibliyografik bir veritabanıdır. Bu veritabanı bütün konuları kapsar ve düzenli , düzensiz yayınlanmış yayınları, ücretsiz dağıtılan veya abonelik ödenen yayınların hepsini içerir.
Web of Science
This multidisciplinary citation database contains over 21,200 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (Including open access journals) in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Conference proceedings and book data are also available. Including Web of Science: Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Art & Humanities Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

----------

Çeşitli disiplinlerde yayın yapan bilimsel dergilerin etki gücünü, yayınlanan makalelerin aldığı atıf sayısını gösteren ve ayrıca yazarların makaleleri ve makalelerin kaynakçalarını listeleyen bibliyografik bir veri tabanıdır. Web of Science fen bilimleri, sosyal bilimler, sanat ve insani bilimlerini konu alan dergileri ve konferans bildirilerini düzenli olarak tarayarak araştırma alanınızla en ilgili ve prestijli yayınlara ulaşmanızı sağlar.

E-Book

Adam Matthew: Business, Economic and Labour History
A range of important sources from Britain and America, covering key subjects within this historical field, including Keynesian economic policy in post-war Britain; international labour movements; the London Stock Exchange; and the papers of important economists.

----------

Bu koleksiyon, savaş sonrası Britanya’da Keynesian ekonomi politikası, uluslararası işçi hareketleri, Londra Borsası ile ilgili bilgiler ve ekonomistlerin yazılarının da içerisinde yer aldığı Britanya ve Amerika’ya dair önemli kaynakları içermektedir.
Adam Matthew: Shakespeare in Performance
Shakespeare in Performance provides access to prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

----------

Shakespeare in Performance, Folger Shakespeare Kütüphanesi'nden kitaplara erişim sağlamaktadır. Bu kitaplar, Shakespeare oyunlarının on yedinci ve yirminci yüzyıllar arasında Büyük Britanya, Amerika Birleşik Devletleri ve uluslararası olarak tiyatrolarda sergilenen oyunlarının hikayesini anlatmaktadır.
Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions Online is a series of guides that offer accessible introductions to the writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods in the subjects of literature, philosophy, religion, culture, and music.

----------

Cambridge Companions Online veritabanı edebiyat, felsefe, din, kültür ve müzik alanlarındaki konu ve dönemler ile birlikte, bu alanlarda yazan yazar, sanatçı ve filozofların yazdıkları kitap ve çeşitli çalışmaların içeriklerinin tanıtımlarından oluşan bir rehber dizisidir.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection database provides access to the more than 165.000 full text e-books in the subjects of business, science, engineering, social sciences etc.

For mobile app 

----------

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection veritabanı işletmeden fen bilimlerine, mühendislikten beşeri bilimlere kadar çok sayıda disiplini kapsayan 165.000’den fazla tam metin e-kitaba erişim sunmaktadır.

Mobil uygulama için
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online is the electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica which has been published since 1768. It covers more than 300,000 web-sites, 118,000 articles, 2000 video clips, sound files, animations, photographs, drawings, maps and flags. Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus are also available through this database.

----------

1768 yılında yayınlanmaya başlayan Encyclopaedia Britannica’nin elektronik versiyonu olan Encyclopaedia Britannica Online, 300.000’den fazla web sayfası, 118.000 makale, 2000 video klip, ses kayıtları, animasyonlar, fotoğraflar, resimler, ülkelerin harita ve bayraklarını içermektedir. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online ara yüzünden Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus’a da erişim sağlanabilmektedir.
Letters Of Charles Dickens
ENG: The Letters of Charles Dickens database provides full-text access to the collected correspondence of Charles Dickens between 1820-1870 from InteLex.

TR: InteLex tarafından yayınlanan Letters of Charles Dickens veritabanı, Charles Dickens’ın 1820-1870 yılları arasında yazdığı mektuplara tam metin erişim sağlamaktadır.
Literary Encyclopedia
ENG: The Literary Encyclopedia is an online reference work. It provides access to information in literature, history, philosophy and related subjects.

TR: Literary Encyclopedia, edebiyat, tarih, felsefe ve ilgili konularda hazırlanmış bilgilere erişim sağlayan bir referans kaynağıdır.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection
ENG: This ebook reference collection offers a rich election of eBook titles covering a broad renge of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports and travel.

TR: MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection veritabanı biyografi, tarih, kariyer, yemek pişirme, edebiyat, soy bilimi, politika, mimarlık, bilim, spor, seyahat gibi birçok konuda e-kitaplar içermektedir.
Oxford Scholarship Online
ENG: Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to the e-books from the Oxford University Press covering subjects across biology, business, and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, religion, social work, sociology.

TR: Oxford Scholarship Online veritabanı biyoloji, işletme ve yönetim, klasik çalışmalar, ekonomi ve finans, tarih, hukuk, dilbilimi, edebiyat, matematik, felsefe, fizik, siyaset bilimi, psikoloji, din, sosyal çalışmalar ve sosyoloji konularını kapsayan Oxford University Press e-kitaplarına erişim sağlar.
Peter Lang
ENG: Peter Lang provides access to e-books in the fields of Social Sciences, Art and Humanities.

TR: Peter Lang veritabanı Sosyal Bilimler, Sanat ve Beşeri Bilimler alanlarındaki e-kitaplara erişim sağlar.
Project Muse Books Collection
ENG: Project Muse Books Collection provides access to electronic books published between 2010 and 2016 in philosophy, religion, literature, theatre, performing arts and related subjects.

TR: Project Muse Books Collection, felsefe, din, edebiyat, tiyatro, sahne sanatları ve ilgili konularda, 2010 – 2016 yılları arasında yayınlanmış elektronik kitaplara erişim sağlamaktadır.
Sage E-Books and Handbooks
ENG: Sage E-Books and Handbooks database include e-books from various subjects such as business&management, politics&international relations, education, sociology etc.

TR: Sage E-Books and Handbooks veritabanı, işletme ve yönetim, siyaset bilimi ve uluslararası ilişkiler, eğitim, sosyoloji vb. konularda e-kitaplar içerir.
 
Springer E-Book Collection
ENG: The Springer eBook Collection offers the first online book collection especially made for the requirements of researchers and scientists. The collection currently includes online access to more than 25,000 titles and grows with more than 3,400 newly released STM books, book series volumes and reference works each year.

TR: Springer E-Book Collection Springer yayınevine ait elektronik kitaplara erişim sağlamaktadır.
Taylor & Francis E-Books
ENG: Database provides access to the e-books of Taylor & Francis Publications in the subject fields of history, political science, philosophy, and media.

TR: Veritabanı, Taylor & Francis Yayınevi’ne ait tarih, politika, felsefe ve medya konulu elektronik kitaplara erişim sağlamaktadır.
Taylor & Francis E-Books
ENG: Database provides access to the e-books of Taylor & Francis Publications in the subject fields of history, political science, philosophy, and media.

TR: Veritabanı, Taylor & Francis Yayınevi’ne ait tarih, politika, felsefe ve medya konulu elektronik kitaplara erişim sağlamaktadır.
The Chicago Manual of Style
ENG: The Chicago Manual of Style is a guide database American English that frequently used in publishing field to regulate the writing style.

TR: The Chicago Manual of Style, Chicago Üniversitesi Yayınevi tarafından yayınlanan Amerikan İngilizcesi biçim kılavuzudur ve yayıncılık sektöründe geniş bir şekilde kullanılan yazı biçimini düzenlemektedir.
Turcademy
ENG: Turcademy provides access to about 2,500 electronic books in law, history, philosophy, psychology, political science, language and literature, education, business, economy, science, engineering, architecture, health sciences, and related subjects published by Anı Publishing, Gazi Publishing, Palme Publishing, Pegem Academy and Seçkin Publishing.

Note: To read the resources, it is necessary to sign up by institutional e-mail and to be connected to the Bilkent internet network.

Please click to watch the Turcademy User Guide video.

TR: Turcademy, Anı Yayıncılık, Gazi Kitabevi, Palme Yayıncılık, Pegem Akademi ve Seçkin Yayıncılık gibi yayınevleri tarafından hukuk, tarih, felsefe, psikoloji, siyaset bilimi, dil ve edebiyat, eğitim, işletme, ekonomi, bilim, mühendislik, mimarlık, sağlık bilimleri ve ilgili konularda yayınlanmış yaklaşık 2.500 elektronik kitaba erişim sağlamaktadır.

Not: Kaynakları okumak için kurumsal e-posta ile üyelik yapmak ve kurum internet ağına bağlı olmak gerekmektedir.

Turcademy Kullanım Rehberi videosunu izlemek için lütfen tıklayınız.
University Press Scholarship Online
ENG: UPSO database provides access to Oxford Scholarship Online database and also e-books from leading university presses in a variety of fields like biology, math, history, physics, literature, and law.

TR: UPSO veritabanı Oxford Scholarship Online veritabanına ve biyoloji, matematik, tarih, fizik, edebiyat ve hukuk gibi alanlarda önde gelen üniversite yayınlarına ait e-kitaplara erişim sağlar. 
Wiley Online Books
Wiley Online Books database provide unlimited full-text access to more than 21,500 e-books. Wiley Online Library e-book topics are consist of business, finance, chemistry, physics and engineering, medical and health sciences, humanities, social sciences and psychology.

----------

Wiley Online Books veritabanı 21.500’den fazla e-kitaba tam metin sınırsız erişim imkanı sağlar. Wiley Online Library e-kitap konuları işletme, finans, kimya, fizik ve mühendislik, tıp ve sağlık bilimleri, insani bilimler, sosyal bilimler ve psikolojidir.

Full Text

African American Heritage
African American Heritage database includes records about African-Americans’ Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation, Military Draft and Service, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Person of Color, Freedman’s Bank and more.

----------

African American Heritage veritabanı Afro-Amerikalıların Federal Nüfus Sayımı,Evlilik ve Beraber Yaşam, Kölelik ve Serbest Bırakılma Kayıtları ile Freedman Bankası gibi kayıtlarını içermektedir.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America: History and Life with Full Text includes prominent sources about history and the culture of America and Canada from the prehistoric times to the modern times.

----------

America: History and Life with Full Text veritabanı, Amerika ve Kanada tarihi ve kültürü ile ilgili tarih öncesinden günümüze kadar önde gelen kaynakları içeren kapsamlı bir tam metin veritabanıdır.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries database provides access to approximately 100.000 pages of diaries, letters and memoir. Database includes 4.000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letter of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor.

----------

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries veritabanı yaklaşık olarak 100.000 sayfalık günlük, mektup ve anıya erişim sağlamaktadır. Veritabanı, Amos Wood ve eşi ile of Maryland Planter William Claytor gibi kişilerin daha önce yayımlanmamış 4.000 sayfalık el yazmalarını da içermektedir.
Ancestry Library
Ancestry Library is a database that gives opportunity to research ancestry ties by using census, immigration, ethnic root and military information in the past.

----------

Ancestry Library geçmişteki nüfus, göç, etnik köken ve askeri bilgileri kullanarak soy bağları ile ilgili araştırma yapmaya olanak sağlar.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)

The collection provides access to primary documents at the center of the foreign and military policy of the USA since 1945, and deals with the most critical events in the world and the policies of countries with military, intelligence, diplomacy and human rights dimensions.

Please click for the LibGuide page.

----------

1945'ten bu yana ABD’nin dış ve askeri politikasının merkezinde yer alan önemli birincil belgelerden oluşan koleksiyon, dünyada yaşanan en kritik olayları, ülkelerin politikalarını askeri, istihbarat, diplomasi ve insan hakları boyutları ile ele almaktadır.

LibGuide sayfası için lütfen tıklayın.

 
GreenFILE
Database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. 

----------

Doğa ile ilgili multidisipliner bir veri tabanı olan GreenFILE, çevre ile tarım, eğitim, hukuk ve teknoloji gibi çeşitli disiplinler arasındaki bağlara dikkat çeker. Kapsadığı başlıklardan bazıları şunlardır; küresel ısınma, iklim değişiklikleri, kirlilik, ağaçlandırma, tarım, yenilenebilir enerji ve geri dönüşüm.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
ENG: America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts together index and abstract over 1,700 journal titles. Journals indexed in America: History and Life are specific to American history. Citations go back to 1964 for select titles. Journals indexed in Historical Abtracts cover a wide range of historical subject matter, and include journals published in many languages, including Turkish journals. Citations for Historical Abstracts date back to 1955 for select titles.

TR: 1.700’den fazla derginin indeksini ve özetini içerir. America: History and Life’da indekslenen dergiler, doğrudan Amerikan tarihine yöneliktir. İçerdiği makaleler 1964 yılına kadar uzanır. Türkçe dergiler de dahil olmak üzere tarih konusunda bir çok dilde yayınlanmış dergileri kapsar. Historical Abstracts’ daki dergilerin künyelerinin tarihleri 1955’lere kadar uzanır.
 
Humanities Source Ultimate
ENG: Humanities Source Ultimate is a database of humanities disciplines that provide access to thousands of full-text journals, full-text books, indexes, interviews, book reviews, and more.

TR: Humanities Source Ultimate, binlerce tam metin dergiye, tam metin kitaba, indekslere, röportajlara, kitap incelemelerine ve daha birçok farklı formattaki kaynağa erişim sağlayan, beşeri bilimler için hazırlanmış bir veritabanıdır.
 
JSTOR
ENG: JSTOR provides access to back issues of journals in the following topics: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR does not include current issues or volumes, but includes complete runs of all journals up to two to five years prior to the current date.

TR: Aşağıdaki konuları içeren dergilerin eski sayılarına erişim sağlar: Antropoloji, Amerika ve Asya Etüdleri, Ekoloji, Ekonomi, Eğitim, Maliye, Fen, Tarih, Edebiyat, Matematik, Felsefe, Siyasal Bilimler, Nüfus Etüdleri, Sosyoloji ve İstatistik. JSTOR, dergilerin güncel sayılarını içermez fakat günümüzden 2-5 yıl öncesine kadarki dergilerin bütün sayılarını kapsar.
 
Newspaper Source Plus
ENG: Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

TR: Newspaper Source Plus içinde 860 tam metin gazeteden 35 milyondan fazla makaleyi barındırmanın yanı sıra; 800.000’den fazla televizyon ve radyo haberinin transkriptine erişim sağlamaktadır.
OpenDissertations
ENG: EBSCO Open Dissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.

TR: Açık erişim bir veritabanı olan OpenDissertations, birçok konuda araştırmacılara hem geçmiş hem de günümüz tez çalışmalarına erişim imkanı sağlamaktadır.
Oxford Handbooks Online
ENG: Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) database contains more than 1000 handbooks in the fields of archaeology, business & management, classical studies, criminology, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology and sociology.

TR: Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) veritabanı; arkeoloji, dilbilim, edebiyat, ekonomi ve finans, felsefe, hukuk, klasik çalışmalar, kriminoloji, müzik, psikoloji, politik bilimler, sosyoloji, işletme ve tarih konularında 1000’den fazla rehberi kapsamaktadır.
Oxford Reference Online
ENG: Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 well-known dictionaries and reference books, plus an Encyclopedia. These references are cross-searchable or searchable by subject and source. The database offers coverage of a broad range of subjects including General Reference, Science and Medicine, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Business.

TR: Oxford Reference Online, tanınmış 100 sözlük ve referans kitapları ile bir ansiklopedi içerir. Bu kaynaklar kitap adı ve konu başlıkları altında taranabilir. Oxford Reference Online Genel Referans, Bilim ve Tıp, İnsani Bilimler, Sosyal Bilimler ve İşletme konularını geniş anlamda kapsayarak sunan bir veritabanıdır.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
ENG: The Oxford Research Encyclopedias offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

TR: Oxford Research Encyclopedias, önde gelen akademisyenler tarafından yazılan, hakem tarafından gözden geçirilen ve düzenlenen makaleleri sunar. Yirmi beş farklı ansiklopedinin her biri, zaman içinde beşeri bilimler, sosyal bilimler ve fen bilimlerindeki ana araştırma alanları için bir sabitleyici bilgi tabanı geliştirmek için hem temel hem de en yeni konuları kapsar.
Oxford University Press Journals Online
ENG: Oxford Journals Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press. Oxford University Press publishes well over 350 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas; science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts, and social science disciplines.

TR: Oxford University Press, dünyadaki seçkin dergi yayıncılarından birisidir. Bu veritabanı; arkeoloji, biyoloji, tarih, dil, hukuk ve tıp konularındaki dergilere tam metin erişim sağlar.
Project Muse
ENG: Project Muse provides full-text access to 389 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences.

TR: Project Muse veritabanı; insani bilimler, sanat ve sosyal bilimler alanında yayınlanmış 389 dergiye tam metin erişim sağlamaktadır.
Proquest Civil War Era
ENG: Covering many aspects of American history, the ProQuest Civil War Era database provides access to primary sources include economic and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, 600,000 war casualties, and the emancipation of approximately 4 million slaves.

TR: Amerikan tarihini birçok yönden ele alan ProQuest Civil War Era veritabanı, kölelik karşıtı hareketlere, 600,000 savaş kaybına sebep olan ve yaklaşık olarak 4 milyon kölenin özgürleşmesini sağlayan ekonomik faktörleri ve diğer etkenleri içeren birincil kaynaklara erişim sağlamaktadır.   
 
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
ENG: Provides access to citations and full text for doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Includes citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward as well as 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master’s theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

TR: Doktora ve master tezlerinin künyelerine ve tam metinlerine erişim sağlar. 1980 yılından sonra basılan tezlerin hem künyelerini hem de yazarları tarafından yazılan 350 kelimelik özetlerini içerir. 1988 yılından sonraki master tezleri ise 150 kelimelik özet içermektedir.
Proquest Primary Source
ENG: Proquest Primary Source Databases provide access to contents from historical newspapers, magazines, books, manuscripts, U.S. and UK government documents, and more.

TR: Proquest Primary Sources veritabanları tarihi gazeteler, dergiler, kitaplar, el yazmaları ile ABD ve Birleşik Krallık’a ait çeşitli hükümet belgelerine erişim sağlamaktadır.

LibGuide sayfası için lütfen tıklayın.
SAGE Journals Online
ENG: SAGE Journals Online database includes more than 1,000 journals in the fields of business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

TR: SAGE Journals Online veritabanı işletme, beşeri bilimler, sosyal bilimler, fen bilimleri, teknoloji ve tıp gibi birçok alanda 1.000’den fazla dergi içermektedir.
SAGE Research Methods
ENG: SAGE Research Methods database provides access to more than 750 books, journal articles, reference resources, and instructional videos in the field of research methods.

TR: SAGE Research Methods veritabanı, araştırma yöntem ve teknikleri alanında hazırlanmış 750’den fazla kitap, makale, referans kaynağı ve eğitim videolarına erişim sağlamaktadır.
Taylor and Francis Online Journals
ENG: Taylor and Francis Online Journals is the service from Taylor and Francis Publishing. It holds full-text articles of over 1,200 journals from 1997 to the present. The subjects covered range across health science, life and physical sciences, technology, medicine, to arts and humanities, social sciences, business, and education.

TR: Taylor and Francis Online Journals, Taylor and Francis Yayınevinin 1,200’den fazla dergisine 1997 yılından günümüze, tam metin erişim imkanı sağlayan bir veritabanıdır. Sağlık bilimleri, yaşam ve tabiat bilimleri, teknoloji, tıp, sanat ve insani bilimler, sosyal bilimler, işletme ve eğitim konularını kapsamaktadır.
The University of Chicago Press Journals
ENG: The University of Chicago Press Journals database provides access to online journals in various fields such as art and art history, education, economics, humanities, law and politics, medieval and renaissance studies, science.

TR: The University of Chicago Press Journals veritabanı sanat ve sanat tarihi, eğitim, beşeri bilimler, hukuk ve politika, orta çağ ve rönesans çalışmaları ile bilim gibi birçok farklı alandaki online dergiye erişim sağlamaktadır.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
ENG: The TLG is both a full-text digital library of Greek literature and a research project at the University of California, Irvine. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital collection that includes all extant works of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era, and to develop search mechanisms that allow scholars and students to search this collection.

Note: You will need to register and create an account to use this resource.

TR: TLG, Yunan edebiyatının tam metin dijital kütüphanesi ve Kaliforniya Üniversitesi’nin araştırma projesidir. Amacı, antik çağdan günümüze Yunan edebiyatı eserlerini içeren kapsamlı bir dijital koleksiyon oluşturmak ve bu koleksiyonda akademisyen ve öğrencilerin araştırma yapmasına olanak sağlamaktır.

Not: Veritabanını kullanmanız için kayıt olmanız ve bir hesap oluşturmanız gerekmektedir.
TR Dizin
ENG: ULAKBIM Turkish National Databases, produced by the Turkish Academic Network and Information Center (ULAKBIM), is a valuable multidisciplinary resource of exceptional scope. Turkish Engineering and Basic Sciences Database provides extensive coverage of Engineering, and Basic and Applied Sciences. Turkish Life Sciences Database focuses on Agricultural, Biological, and Veterinary Sciences. Turkish Medical Database covers research articles in Health Sciences, including Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmaceutics, and Nursing. Turkish Social Sciences Database explores all major fields related to human society from Anthropology, Economics, and History to International Development, Linguistics, and Political Science. Bilingual abstracts and descriptors (Turkish and English) make all four databases readily accessible to researchers in Turkey and around the world.

TR: TR Dizin veritabanı sayesinde ULAKBİM (ULUSAL Akademik Ağ ve Bilgi Merkezi) tarafından sağlanan ve mühendislik, uygulamalı bilimler; tarım, biyoloji, sağlık bilimleri, ilaç; antropoloji, ekonomi, tarih, politika, dil bilimi gibi çeşitli alanlardan kaybakları içeren Turkish Engineering and Basic Sciences, Turkish Life Sciences, Turkish Medical, Turkish Social Sciences veritabanlarına erişim sağlanmaktadır.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library is the online content service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc., delivering the full text of over 300 scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals.

----------

Wiley Online Library teknik, tıp ve bilimsel konularda 300’ün üzerinde mesleki dergi makalelerinin tam metinlerine erişim sağlayan online bir veritabanıdır. Bu veritabanı ANKOS Kütüphane Konsorsiyumu aracılığıyla satın alınmıştır.

E-Journal

SpringerLink Electronic Journals
ENG: Provides access to the electronic versions of the Springer publications subscribed to by the library. The subjects covered include Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and the Social Sciences.

TR: Kütüphane tarafından abone olunan Springer yayınların elektronik versiyonlarına erişim sağlar. Kimya, Bilgisayar Bilimleri, Matematik, Fizik ve Sosyal Bilimler gibi konuları kapsar.

Newspapers

Cumhuriyet Newspaper
Provides access to the all contents of Cumhuriyet from the 1930s until today.

For mobile apps on App Store and Google Play

Note: Please contact with Reference Department (reference@bilkent.edu.tr) to download. Tel: 0312 2901698

----------

Cumhuriyet Gazetesi’nin 1930 yılından günümüze kadar olan tüm içeriğine erişim sağlanabilmektedir.

Mobil uygulama için App Store ve Google Play 

Not: İndirme yapabilmek için lütfen Referans Birimi ile (reference@bilkent.edu.tr) iletişime geçiniz. Tel: 0312 2901698
Dunya Newspaper
Provides access to all content of Dünya Newspaper from 12.11.2012 until today.

For mobile apps on App Store and Google Play

----------

Dünya Gazetesi’nin 12.11.2012 tarihinden günümüze kadar olan tüm içeriğine erişim sağlanabilmektedir.

Mobil uygulama için App Store ve Google Play 

Research and Learning Tools

iThenticate
ENG: iThenticate compares scholarly papers with a vast database of more than 20 billion webpages and over 116 million articles, papers and reviews from leading academic journals, proceedings and abstracts, and calculates the percentage of similarity. It is therefore a useful way of checking your work prior to submission for publication.

Note: Academic staff who wants to use this tool are required to send an e-mail to ithenticate@bilkent.edu.tr from their e-mail addresses with Bilkent extension.


TR: iThenticate programı, akademisyenlerin, editörlerin ve hakemlerin; makale ve draftlarını milyonlarca web sayfası ve veritabanları ile karşılaştırarak benzerlik analizlerinin yapılmasını sağlamaktadır. İmzalanan lisans anlaşması gereğince; iThenticate programı sadece doktora derecesi ve üzerinde akademik yetkinliğe sahip öğretim üyeleri tarafından kullanılabilmektedir.

Not: Programı kullanmak isteyen akademisyenlerin Bilkent uzantılı mail adreslerinden ithenticate@bilkent.edu.tr adresine e-posta göndermesi gerekmektedir.
Mendeley
ENG: Mendeley Institutional Edition is a reference manager tool and academic social network that can help researchers organize their researches, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research for academic institutions. Mendeley is both a desktop application and a web-based application. To begin, click the “join this group” button on the Bilkent University Mendeley Group page. Bilkent University Mendeley Group account offers students, faculty, staff, and researchers 100 GB of storage and the ability to create unlimited private groups with up to 100 users per group.

TR: Mendeley Institutional Edition, araştırmacıların araştırmalarını yönetmelerine ve geliştirmelerine, diğer araştırmacılar ile çevrimiçi işbirliği yapabilmelerine ve yapılmış olan son araştırmaları keşfetmelerine yardımcı olurken, bir kaynakça yönetim aracı ve akademik sosyal ağ hizmetini kurumlara yönelik sunan bir araçtır.

Mendeley Instituational Edition kurumsal kullanıma sahip olmanız için https://www.mendeley.com web adresinden “create free account” bağlantısına tıklayarak Bilkent uzantılı mail adresiniz ile kayıt olup;
Bilkent Üniversitesi Kurumsal Grubu sayfasındaki “join this group” butonuna tıklamanız gerekmektedir. Böylece 100 GB kişisel depolama alanı, sınırsız kapalı grup kurma özelliği, gruplarda 100 kişiye kadar üyelik
imkanlarından faydalanabilirsiniz.
Turnitin
ENG: Turnitin is a web-based software that provides service to detect similarities. By loading assignments, thesis, reports, and projects of their students; faculty members can make in comparison to millions of assignments that previously submitted to the Turnitin; archival or current websites, journal articles, and electronic books from the commercial databases.

Note: Academic staff who wants to use this tool are required to send an e-mail to plagiarism@bilkent.edu.tr from their e-mail addresses with Bilkent extension.

TR: Turnitin benzerlik tespit hizmeti veren web tabanlı bir yazılımdır. Öğretim üyeleri, öğrencilerinin ödevlerini, tezlerini, raporlarını ve projelerini Turnitin web sitesine aktararak; daha önce Turnitin’e aktarılmış olan milyonlarca ödevden, internette arşiv veya güncel olan web sayfalarından, ticari elektronik veritabanlarında yer alan dergi makalelerinden ve elektronik kitaplardan karşılaştırma yapabilirler.

Not: Bu aracı kullanmak isteyen akademik personelin Bilkent uzantılı mail adreslerinden plagiarism@bilkent.edu.tr adresine e-posta göndermesi gerekmektedir.

Video

Vidobu
ENG: Vidobu database contains more than 10.000 Turkish training videos in the fields of science and technology, photography, personal development and career development. With the off campus feature you can also access to the Vidobu database from out off campus via your university e-mail address.
Please click here for off-campus access.

TR: Vidobu veritabanı bilim ve teknoloji, fotoğrafçılık, kişisel ve mesleki gelişim alanlarında 10.000’den fazla Türkçe eğitim videosunu içermektedir. Kampüs dışı erişimi sayesinde kampüs alanı dışından da üniversite mailleriniz aracılığı ile Vidobu veritabanına erişim sağlayabilirsiniz.
Kampüs dışı erişim için lütfen buraya tıklayınız.
Expert Librarian

Dilan Ayverdi