Library Location
The Bilkent University Libraries are located in two separate areas, at the Main Campus and East Campus respectively.
Main Campus Library:
08:30 – 23:30 (Weekdays)
09:00 – 23:30 (Weekends)
Until 03:00 o’clock during Final Exam Periods
East Campus Library:
08:30 – 17:00 (Weekdays)
Closed (Weekends)
Until 23:00 o’clock during Final Exam Periods
08:30 – 23:30 (Weekdays)
09:00 – 23:30 (Weekends)
Until 03:00 o’clock during Final Exam Periods
East Campus Library:
08:30 – 17:00 (Weekdays)
Closed (Weekends)
Until 23:00 o’clock during Final Exam Periods
The Library collection includes a variety of materials such as print and electronic books, print and electronic journals, multimedia materials, manuscripts, microfilms, maps, offprints, etc. These materials are all arranged according to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. Due to this classification system, materials can be searched in the library automation system with their call numbers that have been assigned according to their subjects. You can make your search by using the Library Catalog or Quick Search options on our website.
Our collection also includes 196 databases in various subjects and types that are within the scope of Bilkent University subscription. You can see the list of these databases organized by title or by subject on our website.
Bilkent University Library also hosts collections of important people in their fields. These collections are:
Our collection also includes 196 databases in various subjects and types that are within the scope of Bilkent University subscription. You can see the list of these databases organized by title or by subject on our website.
Bilkent University Library also hosts collections of important people in their fields. These collections are:
- Hasan Âli Yücel Collection
- Halil İnalcık Collection
- Cevdet Kudret Collection
- Talât Halman Collection
- Hüseyin Cöntürk Collection
Library Registration: You need to register in the library system for your library operations. You can apply to our Circulation Desk for registration. Once you register you can borrow materials, and you can enter your library account with the password given to you during the registration process. In addition, you can also apply for a family library card for your partner and children.
Borrowing Rights: You can borrow up to 40 print materials for 120 days, and up to 15 multimedia materials for 15 days at one time. You can renew online twice your borrowings if they haven’t been placed a hold by other users. You will receive a reminder e-mail three days before the due date of your borrowings. An overdue fine will be charged for each overdue material.
User Account: The Library Account on the web page, enables you to check your borrowings, their due date or any overdue fee, renew the borrowings, and/or place hold to books that are borrowed by other users.
Material Request: You can recommend to order materials needed for your works that are not available in our collection by filling the Material Request Form, available on the library web page, or by contacting with your faculty librarian.
ILL Requests: For book requests that are not available in our library collections but available in other libraries you can fill the Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form, for article requests you can fill the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form, both available in the library webpage, or you can contact with your faculty librarian. You can request maximum 5 materials at one time. The loan period is 30 days for ILL books from Turkish libraries out of Ankara, and 15 days for ILL books from foreign libraries.
Course Notes: The Reserve Collection includes the course notes sent to our library by the faculty members. You can fill in the Reserve Request Form, available on our web page, in order to add to the Reserve Collection, either in print or in electronic format, the course notes and books that you want your students to use.
Institutional Repository: You can follow the academic publications of Bilkent University members from the Bilkent University Institutional Repository platform.
Plagiarism: Bilkent University is very sensitive regarding the legal use of information and the scienctific ethical attitude of the academicians and students in their research and publication. Our library provides plagiarism detection tools that you can use to check both your students’ papers and your own works. You can check for the similarity of your students' assignments and theses via Turnitin, and your own academic works via iThenticate.In order to create a Turnitin account you can send an email to plagiarism@bilkent.edu.tr, and for an iThenticate account send an email to ithenticate@bilkent.edu.tr.
Reference ve Citation Management Tools: You can organize your research, can collaborate with other researchers working in the same field, and follow new research related to your field by using the Mendeley and EndNote reference and citation management tools made available to you by our library.
Off-campus Access: You can access 7/24 to all our eletronic resources, regardless your location. For off-campus access to the electronic resources you need a VPN connection. You can set-up your VPN connection from this adres: https://library.bilkent.edu.tr/off-campus-access/
Faculty Librarianship: Each faculty of Bilkent University has a librarian responsible for supporting the education, teaching and research activities of students and faculty members. These information professionals, able to access information, ensure the communication between the faculty they represent and the Library. The faculty librarians are responsible for teaching library literacy based on the varying information needs of faculty members and students, responsible for increasing the use of the library resources, and for contributing to the development of the library collection. Faculty librarians can provide one-on-one user training in the library or by going to the faculties as well; answers questions and helps with your researches via phone and/or e-mail. For any question/suggestion related to the library you can contact with your faculty librarian, and for user training requests you can fill the Library Orientation Request Form.
Help: For any question, opinion and/or suggestion related to our library services and resources you can e-mail to reference@bilkent.edu.tr, contact live with our librarians through the instant message option that pops up in the library webpage, call the 290 1698, fill the Ask a Librarian form, or have a face to face interview with our reference librarians at the Reference Room and Periodicals Room.
Social Media: You can follow us on our socccial media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube) for all updates, changes and announcements about the library services, resources and practices.
Borrowing Rights: You can borrow up to 40 print materials for 120 days, and up to 15 multimedia materials for 15 days at one time. You can renew online twice your borrowings if they haven’t been placed a hold by other users. You will receive a reminder e-mail three days before the due date of your borrowings. An overdue fine will be charged for each overdue material.
User Account: The Library Account on the web page, enables you to check your borrowings, their due date or any overdue fee, renew the borrowings, and/or place hold to books that are borrowed by other users.
Material Request: You can recommend to order materials needed for your works that are not available in our collection by filling the Material Request Form, available on the library web page, or by contacting with your faculty librarian.
ILL Requests: For book requests that are not available in our library collections but available in other libraries you can fill the Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form, for article requests you can fill the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form, both available in the library webpage, or you can contact with your faculty librarian. You can request maximum 5 materials at one time. The loan period is 30 days for ILL books from Turkish libraries out of Ankara, and 15 days for ILL books from foreign libraries.
Course Notes: The Reserve Collection includes the course notes sent to our library by the faculty members. You can fill in the Reserve Request Form, available on our web page, in order to add to the Reserve Collection, either in print or in electronic format, the course notes and books that you want your students to use.
Institutional Repository: You can follow the academic publications of Bilkent University members from the Bilkent University Institutional Repository platform.
Plagiarism: Bilkent University is very sensitive regarding the legal use of information and the scienctific ethical attitude of the academicians and students in their research and publication. Our library provides plagiarism detection tools that you can use to check both your students’ papers and your own works. You can check for the similarity of your students' assignments and theses via Turnitin, and your own academic works via iThenticate.In order to create a Turnitin account you can send an email to plagiarism@bilkent.edu.tr, and for an iThenticate account send an email to ithenticate@bilkent.edu.tr.
Reference ve Citation Management Tools: You can organize your research, can collaborate with other researchers working in the same field, and follow new research related to your field by using the Mendeley and EndNote reference and citation management tools made available to you by our library.
Off-campus Access: You can access 7/24 to all our eletronic resources, regardless your location. For off-campus access to the electronic resources you need a VPN connection. You can set-up your VPN connection from this adres: https://library.bilkent.edu.tr/off-campus-access/
Faculty Librarianship: Each faculty of Bilkent University has a librarian responsible for supporting the education, teaching and research activities of students and faculty members. These information professionals, able to access information, ensure the communication between the faculty they represent and the Library. The faculty librarians are responsible for teaching library literacy based on the varying information needs of faculty members and students, responsible for increasing the use of the library resources, and for contributing to the development of the library collection. Faculty librarians can provide one-on-one user training in the library or by going to the faculties as well; answers questions and helps with your researches via phone and/or e-mail. For any question/suggestion related to the library you can contact with your faculty librarian, and for user training requests you can fill the Library Orientation Request Form.
Help: For any question, opinion and/or suggestion related to our library services and resources you can e-mail to reference@bilkent.edu.tr, contact live with our librarians through the instant message option that pops up in the library webpage, call the 290 1698, fill the Ask a Librarian form, or have a face to face interview with our reference librarians at the Reference Room and Periodicals Room.
Social Media: You can follow us on our socccial media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube) for all updates, changes and announcements about the library services, resources and practices.
Read and Publish agreements, sometimes called transformative agreements are changing the business model of scholarly journal publishing. The separate costs of a subscription to read articles and the Article Processing Charge (APC) to publish articles are brought together under a single agreement—to drive the transition of journal publishing towards open access of the version of record. Read and Publish agreements provide authors with the opportunity to publish via open access immediately on acceptance without the need for additional payment of transactional Article Processing Charges (APC). The process to do this is typically part of the publisher's standard acceptance workflows that authors follow.
In order to check the publishers which Bilkent University Library has Read & Publish agreements with, please visit this page.
In order to check the publishers which Bilkent University Library has Read & Publish agreements with, please visit this page.
Our library hosts at regular intervals many artistic, cultural and intellectual events that you, our valuable users, can attend. Within this scope various exhibitions, concerts, talks and conferences are held in the Art Galery in our Library. In addition, we also have areas where you can rest, cafeterias where you can drink or eat something, a Newspaper and Magazine Reading Room where you can read daily newspapers, and Video Watching rooms where you can watch movies.